5 years in Napa oil dry

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Is it the pellets? Great stuff. Fish emulsion without the mess.
It is the pellets. They are heavy enough they don't was away like most of the organic ferrilizers you buy. Honestly i didnt think it smelled very strong either

TN_Jim

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I think you should be fine. If you are concerned then perhaps just go with 2:1 DE or akadama to lava. Why use bark?

Thanks for your help.
I have heard that DE has a CEC around 30, and that sifted pinebark is around quadruple that. However, I have also read many complaints of roots growing into/through the bark and causing inevitable root loss and problems during repotting, subsequently weakening a tree.
I am pretty new to this and have not experienced this problem yet. Do you believe sacrificing the higher cec is the best way to go? Does a tree even require that higher cec to flourish!!?

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Thanks for your help.
I have heard that DE has a CEC around 30, and that sifted pinebark is around quadruple that. However, I have also read many complaints of roots growing into/through the bark and causing inevitable root loss and problems during repotting, subsequently weakening a tree.
I am pretty new to this and have not experienced this problem yet. Do you believe sacrificing the higher cec is the best way to go? Does a tree even require that higher cec to flourish!!?
As simple as I can state it is you want to have a balance of water and oxygen.

If you take it further its about three things:
Giving and receiving water
Giving and receiving nutrients (CEC)
Giving and receiving oxygen