Acer rubrum Progression

VAFisher

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Magnificent tree. At what age does it become appropriate to begin defoliating in the growing season? I am in central VA as well. I have a Silver Maple that willed its way into the world in a Home Depot pot in my backyard last spring that is growing beautifully in its second year now in a growing pot. My inclination was to let it grow relatively unchecked for awhile to thicken the trunk but I am thinking ahead.
I think your inclination is right. Don't worry about defoliation for a while.

Gary McCarthy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'll be curious to see how small the next set of leaves are after the full defoliation.

I have 24 acer rubrum that I've been growing out from cuttings for the past 5-6 years. Mostly concentrating on a flat, shallow, radial nebari and thickening the trunk. It will still be a few years before I start defoliating.

VAFisher

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I'll be curious to see how small the next set of leaves are after the full defoliation.

I have 24 acer rubrum that I've been growing out from cuttings for the past 5-6 years. Mostly concentrating on a flat, shallow, radial nebari and thickening the trunk. It will still be a few years before I start defoliating.
Back on page 1, you can see how it responded last year. I defoliated it on May 31 and took follow up pics in mid and late June.

SaltySea

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
You've got a wonderful tree on the go here. I'm struggling to see the difference in leaf compared to a trident maple. Do you know an easy way to tell? The reason I ask is that I have some seedlings and I'd like to know if they are tridents or Amur.

Thank you.

Gabler

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a