Beginner in need of help for his Chinese elm

Michel

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone
I am an absolute bonsai beginner and have had a Chinese elm since October last year.
The tree initially set up perfectly well in the new surroundings but since we moved house in December 2020 it has not been doing so well.
It first lost most of its leaves which I knew was a possibility so I wasn't too worried.
The problem now is that the new shoots tend to turn brown a few days after coming out.
I guess it is a watering problem but I don't know if I'm giving it too much water or not enough.
I suspect it is too much but I would like advice from more experienced members please.
I don't want my bonsai to die...

Cadillactaste

Neagari Gal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
You maybe watering to frequently. A tree with little to no foliage needs watered less.i highly recommend using this method to help understand when you should water.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Hard to be sure of anything when we have not seen the tree and don't know which part of the world you live in. A location gives us valuable clues about your local climate and seasons.
Where are you keeping this tree?
Light levels?
How often watering?
Soil type?
Size of tree and size of pot?
all these factors can influence how a tree grows or does not.

Michel

Seedling
Reaction score
You maybe watering to frequently. A tree with little to no foliage needs watered less.i highly recommend using this method to help understand when you should water.

Thank you very much for your reply and for your advice.

Michel

Seedling
Reaction score
Hard to be sure of anything when we have not seen the tree and don't know which part of the world you live in. A location gives us valuable clues about your local climate and seasons.
Where are you keeping this tree?
Light levels?
How often watering?
Soil type?
Size of tree and size of pot?
all these factors can influence how a tree grows or does not.