Beginner question - is my tree ok?

katiekatie24

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi.

I'm new to bonsai and just received my very first Elm tree. I only have it for couple of days but noticed something bit odd about its surface roots. They seem bit ''wet" and sticky. Is it possible that these roots are rotting? How to stop this from happening?
It it possible that the problem comes from the shop?

I attach picture for reference as my description is probably not great.

Many thanks for advice.

Attachments

• SmartSelect_20201126-225111_Gallery.jpg
    SmartSelect_20201126-225111_Gallery.jpg
    289.9 KB · Views: 52

Bnana

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
These Elms can handle a lot but it does look very wet.

Is the soil free draining or does it stay wet? What kind of soil is it?
Is the tree outside or inside?
Where do you live (region/climate zone)?
How do you water and how frequently?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Maybe there is a couple of things going on.
The soil does look a bit wet. You should only water when the soil gets a bit dry. Hard to explain exactly how dry is dry but don't water when just the surface is dry.
The other think is that elms release a sort of gel when the roots are damaged so if you are seeing that and it looks like it is around a cut or scraped root that's perfectly normal and will go away soon.

Please note before the tree starts to look sick that Chinese elm bonsai do not grow well inside despite some outlets promoting them as indoor trees. They can grow inside but usually only with special setup and lighting.
An indication of your location will certainly get far better advice for your particular location so updating your profile is a great idea.

katiekatie24

Seedling
Reaction score
Thanks a lot for your replies.