Bonsai Financial Planning

Have you done any bonsai related planning (ie, appraisal of collection, insurance, estate planning)

• LOL! My "Stick-in-a-pot" bonsia collection needs no financial planning!

• Hmmm, no, but I should.

• Yep, all done...just waiting to die!

Results are only viewable after voting.

PeaceLoveBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I've been doing financial planning as a business for over 17 years. I recently saw a post here about an individual passing and having their collection put up via auction. It got me thinking about financial planning and bonsai. Do people think about that kind of stuff? Do you think about what would happen to your collection if you passed? Do you have an extra insurance policy that covers your collection or a plan for how your collection will be handled if/when you pass? Or is this particular hobby not have enough value for that type of planning? I know my collection isn't worth much, but I could see down the road there being something worth making sure it went to the right person or persons.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a
I've considered having my tree and pot collections individually insured for loss but haven't pulled the trigger yet. I have told my wife, in case of my untimely passing, to contact several friends in the biz to appraise and facilitate the sale of my better trees and pots because there is a fair amount of scratch involved.

Anthony

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Our idea was to open a self functional or set of self functional Bonsai Museums.
As someone passes the work is assessed and that which is worth it is saved and
put on display.

This is why we teach, pottery, Bonsai training and beyond.
The idea is eventually, full time employment for those who love Bonsai as an
occupation.
Job comes with housing as well as pay.

Antiques / Genuine Antiques are rare. Folk will however convince their mind that