Chinese elm hard prune for dummies

Sean vb

Seedling
Reaction score
So,

I'm quite new to bonsai, I was given a Chinese Elm for Xmas a couple of years ago. I've tried to read up on bits and bobs but still consider myself a stone cold beginner.

My question is I think the tree is getting a bit 'lanky' and I don't want it to grow too tall without filling out lower down. I've read alot about 'hard pruning', just how much can you 'hard prune' and how much could I 'chop off' the top to bring the height down abit, and when is it best to do so, late winter / early spring is what I've read?

Tree is outside for about 9 months of the year, only indoors (South facing window) when it gets colder.

Any and all advice welcome.

Sean.
PXL_20221002_160934086.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Chinese elms are one of the best at growing after pruning.
If you prune to leave some leaves on the stems it will grow new shoots from the axils (base of every leaf) close to the chop.
If you prune back to older, bare wood it will usually produce some new buds from the bark but lots more buds in a circle around the exposed cambium where you've chopped. That means you can safely chop anywhere along the trunk or branches. Take it down to a couple of inches from the ground if you need to and it will still grow back.
Even the roots can grow new shoots. We often use pieces of root to start new trees.

Timing for bonsai activities varies according to location. Please add location to your profile so you get correct info for your climate and area.

Sean vb

Seedling
Reaction score
If you prune to leave some leaves on the stems it will grow new shoots from the axils (base of every leaf) close to the chop.