collecting a "wild" yew from my yard

amatbrewer

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Any advice on collecting a yew from the “wild”? [If a tree ignored for years in my front yard can be considered “wild”]

I have been contemplating collecting a yew from my front landscaping. I plan to rework the front landscaping and this plant will not be part of the new design, so regardless it is going to go at some point.
I have never worked with Yew’s before so am not entirely sure what the best process or timing would be. I have tried to search for answers but keep finding conflicting information. “spring”, “winter”, “all year”, “don’t ever prune in the summer/fall” –ARGH!-

I assume it is about 10 years old (it was probably planted a couple of years before we purchased the house). Its multiple trunks look to be around 1.5” (4cm) across and is mostly horizontal due to spending months of the year buried in snow/ice. It is kind of a mess right now so I can’t really get a good look at it until I do some major pruning.

My thoughts were to trim it back to see it is even worth collecting. I suspect pruning would be safest the winter but this plant spends most of its winter buried in a few feet of snow/ice (it is where much of the snow from our driveway and roof ends up, hence its horizontal sprawl), so that may be difficult if not impossible. If I wait until spring, then will I have to wait another year before collecting it?
Also, what preparations should I make for the roots and when? It is bounded on 3 sides by concrete (foundation, driveway, walkway) and the native soil is mostly crap..er..um..oops…I meant to say “clay”.

Thanks in advance for any advice or information!

Vin

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I prune mine in Spring and Summer with no problems at all. However, my zone is much different than yours. As far as collecting goes, I would follow the early Spring collection rule and you'll be just fine.