Damage Inc ROR - Elephant Stone + Spruce

Damage Inc

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
So this is my first project post after following the proverbial bonsai rabbit down the hole a little over a year ago so please be gentle with me...

Well, after a recent thread on using rocks typical from aquarium hardscaping (aqua-scaping) and then uncovering an "unique" root system on a small spruce I bought last year, I ended up with this elephant stone and spruce ROR arrangement. The spruce (at least I am pretty sure its a spruce) was bought at a bonsai club sale last year and sat on my bench until this weekend when I got some time to remove from its 4" nursey pot to see what was going on with the roots.
ROR2.jpg
ROR immediately came to mind and I set out digging through my bins of hardscape material. I did have a few more interesting pieces of the elephant stone but none seemed to fit well with this little guy as well as this piece.
ROR1.jpg

Then I set about trying to find the raffia I bought a few months ago, soaking it and making my best attempt to fit the spruce to the rock while wrapping and tying up the raffia. Thank goodness for work clamps...
ROR3.jpgROR4.jpg

I didn't take any further pics but it is now potted in a typical 1:1:1 APL mix plus some pine bark and coco coir up to and covering the top of the rock. Back onto the bench and finger crossed as to what I find next year. If it survives and the roots start to wrap the rock I will then change focus to styling tree but for now its really still just a stick in a pot with a rock chaser...

Any thoughts or comments?

Frozentreehugger

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I like it first of all . My first go around with bonsai . This is my second I made several