Ficus Benjamina Exposed Root Help

SerSwanky

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hello everyone! Glad I found a forum with such extension knowledge! I was hoping to get some assistance as I am new to bonsai.

I recently purchased a Ficus Benjamina from a nursery. I saw some pretty cool looking exposed root systems in some videos and photos and wanted to recreate my own (see photos).

I realized a few days after repotting it into a trainer pot and leaving some of the roots exposed that I may have been hasty in my excitement. I noticed the roots were a pale color and in most videos the exposed roots on their trees were the color of bark.

It has some decently thick roots close to the stems with long enough roots to go halfway to the bottom of the container. I'm not sure if exposing the roots like that will cause harm to the tree. If I leave some of the thick roots and some of the small roots exposed to the air with the a few of the ends in the soil (the others are floating in the air), will the plant be okay? There is a pretty solid root structure buried in the soil. I'm misting them twice a day but I wasn't sure if the roots would just dry out and die/kill the plant being exposed in the air or if it would be fine. Is there a strategy I should be implementing when trying to do this with a new plant? I couldn't find any resources on this. All the videos on youtube already has an established exposed root system. Or maybe those are all aerial roots? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• 20220215_142738.jpg
    20220215_142738.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 29
  • 20220215_142732.jpg
    20220215_142732.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 29

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
So, this time you dove head first into the shallow end actually. 😜
It's cool, it's not going to die. I've been growing benjaminas for a whole six months, so I'm an expert now.