Forestiera neomexicana / New Mexican Privet / Desert Olive

evolve

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Anyone know anything about this species? Not much info out there for its use in bonsai. I found this one at a local nursery. It has some decent, albeit a bit scraggly, surface roots and the leaves are wonderfully small.

forestiera1.jpg forestiera2.jpg

Basic info I've read says it's a fast grower, very hardy, and drought tolerant. If it responded well to some hard pruning I think this could make a nice tree someday. If it was cheaper I would have went ahead and picked it up and called it an experiment.

Thanks

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi there evolve. I've been practicing bonsai for 3 years now and have multiple New Mexico olives or New Mexico privets depending on the nursery you go to. They grow wild all along the rio grande in my hometown of albuquerque and are one of my favorite shrubs to use in a landscape setting, due to their fast growth, wild shape and beautiful green spring color and yellow fall color. I'm of the opinion that the New Mexico olive is an untapped gem in the bonsai world and with training could be excellent bonsai. They are a species that are tough as nails and can tolerate heavy root pruning and drastic cut back with excellent back budding, but do not seem to callous over too quickly. They tend to sucker heavily as this is their tendency in the wild, but if you pick back the suckers early you can maintain the tree easily. They also, in the wild, ground layer easily, and in some cases can be a single organism as wide as 20 to 30 ft around. they, in many cases, are trimmed like traditional shaped shrubs and tend to ramify easily. They respond well to wiring and are quite pliable. They're small leaf size and bark color lend themselves to looking like an aspen grove when planted in groups. I would say DEFINITELY worth the purchase. I hope this helps.

best regards
DH

Hartinez

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone