GailC's little Christmas tree entry

Woocash

Omono
Reaction score
I'm hoping my alberta spruce is still alive but I won't know with that one for awhile. I'm not good with conifers, I really shouldn't have entered.
I’m not sure if very many of us are any good with conifers who entered, but that was kind of the point I think. Hopefully by the end of the three years we will have improved. Just keep swimming! :)

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
I had lost interest in my spruce. It sat on the porch for a long time, eventually I moved it out to the yard where it got covered with snow.
About three weeks ago, I needed a gallon nursery pot so I pulled the spruce out of its can and left it sit bare assed in the yard. I had planned to toss it in the trash today but I found a pot for it instead.

Cut off half the root mass and combed out the remaining roots. Ended up removing about 70%, mostly fine roots. Not much in the way of a tap root.

Potted it up in potting soil, didn't want to risk it drying out this year.
Really have no idea what to do with conifers so I put in a couple jins, added some wiggles to them and wired most of the branches outwards.
Looks bad, probably killed it but it was a good learning experience. I do hope it survives.

Attachments

• 20200420_134124.jpg
    20200420_134124.jpg
    254.6 KB · Views: 41
  • 20200420_143756.jpg
    20200420_143756.jpg
    169.4 KB · Views: 42

B.uneasy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Your lucky with those trunks! My CBS has one straight trunk. I'll have to use my imagination!

GailC

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4-5
Your lucky with those trunks! My CBS has one straight trunk. I'll have to use my imagination!

I bought it for a christmas tree so I got as many trunks as I could find. I would have rather had one or two.

cishepard

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone