Hello! Newbie here.. Advice gladly welcomed (smilie face)

ac1986

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

New to bonsai and very new to this forum. Looks like an amazing resource for info and community so excited to get involved. Just thought I'd put a post up and get people's advice and thoughts on how to get cracking. I've always enjoyed bonsai but only in passing until recently. Decided to get involved and found myself down the YouTube rabbit hole and ordering books online. As I'm sure many do I ordered a few small trees from ebay (sold by a garden centre) and now furiously scour the Web daily for local treasures.

I thought if I post a few pics of what I have id be more than happy for anyone who fancies to give me any tips or comments. Literally any small things welcome.

My biggest concern is the azelea. Its got some nasty marks from wire which it came with which I've subsequently removed. Ive read about the need for some acidic soil and have bought some kanuma soil (though not done anything with it yet). The tree also has a few leaves which have gone a bit red.

The maple looks pretty and the leaves are turning colour a little. Figured I'd just leave that be for now.. That is unless the garden centre soil is hampering it and it would benefit from something nicer to sit in!

The little forest looks good but I'm not sure where to go with it next really.. Maybe I'll just be happy keeping that healthy for now.

I bought a bougainvillea on the cheap which looks quite exciting and this little fir type thing for 8 quid on ebay in the very 80s pot. Wondering what can be done with those?

As I say, have a look at the pics and comment away. Thanks in advance. Adam

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This was sent for approval, not sure why but that may be why the pics are gone?

Sorry for the delay.

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

ac1986

Seedling
Reaction score
This was sent for approval, not sure why but that may be why the pics are gone?