Learning Energy Fundamentals

awarrenj

Sapling
Reaction score
As a newbie, I have seen discussions of things like "how to thicken trunks", how to prune to direct energy, etc. Is there a text anywhere that explains all the ramifications of directing energy in a tree?

MaciekA

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is going to be a difficult thing to find any specific text on in bonsai terms, but in botany and the study of plants in general, the outcome of either pruning or not pruning (lengthening, leaving as sacrificial, etc) is seen through the lens of affecting energy demand, not directing energy. In other words it affects in a pull manner, not a push manner. The survivors of a pruning or needle plucking session are the ones that decide where stored energy goes by demanding it, and they also decide how much new energy is then diffused back into the tree by producing it. The energy we're talking about usually refers to sugars and starches. "Starch" being the long term energy cache and "sugar" being the short term and mobile form (note these are generic terms for more specific substances).

The above idea was covered well in a 2014 paper that showed that after pruning, the "signal" of energy demand arrives at responding buds faster than the hormone signal does -- in other words those dormant buds become aware of the pruning as a result of shifts in energy consumption than they do as a result of the changing hormone balance in the tree: https://www.pnas.org/doi/10.1073/pnas.1322045111 .. Both sugar demand and hormone crosstalk determine how trees respond to pruning, which is why in bonsai we're preoccupied with both styling (wiring) and pruning to achieve our goals -- wiring affects both of these factors. Pruning affects both of these factors.