Maples in Hawaii

Momoiropanther

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I’m new to bonsai and was wondering if anyone has had luck growing Japanese maples in Hawaii.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hey everyone, I’m new to bonsai and was wondering if anyone has had luck growing Japanese maples in Hawaii.
By and large, maples aren't in the cards for a tropical climate, unless you're at higher elevation where temps get down below 45 or so for weeks in the winter.. Some species (Trident maples) work in subtropical, such as Florida and California. Maples require a dormancy period and hours below 45 or lower to complete their genetic requirements for dormancy. If they never get a dormant period, they will continue on for a year or three, then collapse and die.

Hawaii has a long history of bonsai. Look up Papa Kaneshiro, and Fuku Bonsai You're in tropical bonsai heaven. Ficus, schefflera, all kinds of other species, including Christmasberry, bougainvillea, etc, can be made into bonsai.

Momoiropanther

Seedling
Reaction score
By and large, maples aren't in the cards for a tropical climate, unless you're at higher elevation where temps get down below 45 or so for weeks in the winter.. Some species (Trident maples) work in subtropical, such as Florida and California. Maples require a dormancy period and hours below 45 or lower to complete their genetic requirements for dormancy. If they never get a dormant period, they will continue on for a year or three, then collapse and die.

Hawaii has a long history of bonsai. Look up Papa Kaneshiro, and Fuku Bonsai You're in tropical bonsai heaven. Ficus, schefflera, all kinds of other species, including Christmasberry, bougainvillea, etc, can be made into bonsai.
Thanks for the info!

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thanks for the info!
Forgot to include this link. Might be a good place to start.

and see what's possible

Last edited:

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone