Native Azalea

VAFisher

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a

I was looking around a local nursery yesterday and came across this native azalea (Rhododendron periclymenoides). Something about the way the 2 trunks flowed together caught my eye, so I bought it. When I got it home I decided to transfer it into this training pot (with as little root disturbance as possible) and style it. I guess I'm looking for some feedback on this guy. Be easy though, I'm a newb.

Has anyone ever used this species for bonsai? The foliage seems well suited. From a design standpoint, where would you go with it? I'm wondering if the right hand trunk should be the taller trunk and should I work towards that goal? The lowest right branch is not as long as the branch above, so I think that needs to be corrected. When it comes time for a pot, what type of pot do you think would suit it best?

I have an affinity for native species so this one really piqued my interest. Thanks for looking.

Jester217300

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
It looks like a good buy, a decent twin trunk with the start to a good nebari. If you're eventually trying to create a tree with convincing proportions as found in nature you're going to have a difficult time using the top 80% or more of this plant in the final design. That being the case I'm not sure it's worth it to wire anything yet.