New to Bonsai - Yatsubusa Elm - Advice needed

LuieAvila

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I'm new to Bonsai and have been educating myself with online resources and YouTube.

I was gifted a Yatsubusa Elm for my birthday this year. I honestly have no idea what I'm doing. I've watering regularly as I believe is fit. I've had this for over a month now and I've seen a huge decline in appearance. What were once nice greens leafs have turn brown. I figured my plant was dying on me. Then out of the blue, new growth started to appear on the bottom of the trunk.

I was giving up hope, but this new growth has me thinking that the plant still has a chance.

I'm looking for guidance an what steps to take from here on out to ensure this little plant will be healthy.

Pictures attached for reference.

Attachments

• Current Condition .jpg
    Current Condition .jpg
    180.3 KB · Views: 73
  • Current Condition 2.jpg
    Current Condition 2.jpg
    112.7 KB · Views: 61
  • Current Condition 3.jpg
    Current Condition 3.jpg
    213.4 KB · Views: 66
  • 20221009_113822.jpg
    20221009_113822.jpg
    175.4 KB · Views: 72
  • 20220902_225541.jpg
    20220902_225541.jpg
    124.3 KB · Views: 78
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Is it possible it was reacting to a dramatically different climate than it was in before? They can tolerate pretty hot sun but if it came from somewhere cooler that may have caused it to shed it's leaves. For now I'd do morning sun afternoon shade, water when the soil is somewhat dry and ease it back to life. They're pretty hardy trees.

LuieAvila

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Is it possible it was reacting to a dramatically different climate than it was in before? They can tolerate pretty hot sun but if it came from somewhere cooler that may have caused it to shed it's leaves. For now I'd do morning sun afternoon shade, water when the soil is somewhat dry and ease it back to life. They're pretty hardy trees.