Overwintering Satsuki Azaleas

Reaction score
I'm not a novice to bonsai, but I'm just getting into Satsuki Azaleas, and need some info from the Satuski experts, which I can't seem to find on line,
My concern is light. Since they are not a deciduous tree, Can they be kept in a dark, unheated garage, a shed or even a dark underground structure or would a cold frame be more beneficial, where they can receive some sunlight during the Wintertime? All advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Glaucus

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Besides jimib's very good references, I indeed believe that no light can only be combined with low temperatures. If temperatures are on the high side, metabolism is higher, energy use is higher, and lack of light will starve them.
So the key to darkness is to keep them as dormant as possible.eo mentioned which temperatures he believes will work for him.

If this overwintering is necessary also depends on the type of winters you have.

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Your location is a critical piece of what you do to overwinter satsuki, as is the variety of satsuki you have. Without that info, anyone giving advice is taking a shot in the dark. FWIW, keeping satsuki inside in a dark environment is asking for trouble, as is keeping them in a cold frame without knowing the specific variety you have (some satsuki are more winter hardy than others)

Reaction score
Besides jimib's very good references, I indeed believe that no light can only be combined with low temperatures. If temperatures are on the high side, metabolism is higher, energy use is higher, and lack of light will starve them.
So the key to darkness is to keep them as dormant as possible.eo mentioned which temperatures he believes will work for him.

If this overwintering is necessary also depends on the type of winters you have.