Total Bonsai Noob!

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I have some gardening/plant experience. I must say that I have healthy houseplants. Every summer, I have an outdoor patio garden which I take very good care of (I'm very meticulous). Anyway, my Dad bought me two different bonsai plants for Christmas this year. I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO TAKE CARE OF THEM!!!!! So I need lots of advice so I don't hurt them.

Bonsai #1
This was bought online from CZ Grain. The invoice says that it is a Green Weeping Willow Tree Cutting - Thick Trunk Start. It came in the mail today. There is a thick cutting and an extra thin cutting. I have placed them both in two separate glasses with 2-3 inches of water. I am waiting for them to sprout roots, so I have a little time before I plant them. Need advice on getting started.

Bonsai #2 (below)
This was bought on Amazon (don't know the seller off-hand). I need some help identifying it. I think it's a Japanese Needle Juniper (???). It's not a fun plant to handle. I have no idea what I'm doing with this. It came a couple days ago. Today, I noticed a tiny bit of the needles turning reddish. You can't see in this pictture. Help!!!!!!

Here is my plant today. It's really tiny:

JapNeedJun.jpg

I should add that I am placing both of these plants on the carpeted floor in front of my sliding glass doors. They face south and get sun all day. It is cold outside right now though and it's not exactly cozy warm near those doors, but I want the plants to get light, and I have some other house plants there that are doing great. This little plant above - the soil seams tightly packed. It's very difficult to tell how moist it is. The planter is heavy, so it's hard to tell. I feel I shouldn't trim anything on this as it's so small. Advice?

A. Gorilla

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Its not an ideal start. Limp it along til spring. If it is still alive put it outside. There it shall stay for the rest of its life.