Total Noob - Bonsai tree root shrinking and dying

bonsaito

Seed
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a total newbie and I could really use some help with my bonsai tree. It's a ficus microcarpa bonsai tree that I bought earlier in the year. It was supposed to be a good beginner bonsai, but now it just seems to be in bad shape and I don't know why.

As you can see in the pictures, one of the roots has almost completely shrunk and died and I don't know why. I water it once a week and keep it close but not too close to a window for sunlight. I've also bought bonsai fertilizer to help it, but it just seems to very slowly be dying. I'm considering re-potting next, but I'm not sure if that would help since I don't know what the root problem could be.

Has anybody seen this root shrinking before? Would really appreciate any suggestions to save my tree.

Thank you!

Attachments

• bonsa_bad_shape1.jpg
    bonsa_bad_shape1.jpg
    134.8 KB · Views: 53
  • bonsa_bad_shape2.jpg
    bonsa_bad_shape2.jpg
    97 KB · Views: 50
  • bonsa_bad_shape3.jpg
    bonsa_bad_shape3.jpg
    150.5 KB · Views: 51

Potawatomi13

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Sorry not conversant in Ficus. However please add location to profile and be persistant. Stick around even if negative results this time;).

Last edited:

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!
shrinkage-well-it-is-winter-season.jpg

The drip tray, wet leaves, and abundant moss suggest it's too wet.