Trying to wrap my head around trunk thickening

Bp1313

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey guys, beginner here.

I keep hearing that in order to thicken the trunk of a tree, you have to put it in the ground.

What is keeping it from forming branches too high on the trunk as if it was growing normally?

For example I see some 10-15 foot tall redwoods outside near my house, and the first branch is like 5 feet up the trunk.

How do you plant a tree in the ground to thicken the trunk while still being able to make it a bonsai later?

You don't HAVE to put it in the ground. But the FASTEST way to get it to thicken up is to put it in the ground.

It is important to understand the concept of balanced growth above and below the soil level. If you want the top of the tree to grow fast and bulk up, you have to allow a corresponding amount of growth below the soil level (in the roots). When you place a tree in a bonsai pot, the reduction in space for the roots to grow will slow the growth rate of the upper part of the tree significantly. You can see this in nature, where trees growing in small pockets of soil in the mountains have barely any growth rate. Take the same tree out of the mountains and plant it in a field, and its growth rate will sky-rocket. So the fastest way to get the top of your tree to grow is to turbo-charge your root growth, and that happens best in a field or raised bed.

I keep hearing that in order to thicken the trunk of a tree, you have to put it in the ground.
Welcome. More foliage = more photosynthesis = more sugar production = fatter trunks (and branches). Ground growing typically gives the tree the most room to spread its roots and grow giant, but it is not required. Many of us (including myself) use larger grow boxes. You can grow the trees pretty giant in a grow box if desired.

What is keeping it from forming branches too high on the trunk as if it was growing normally?