Boxwood

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hopefully this will make it. Boxwood clump style. 30 years old. I've had it about ten years. Newly repotted. Bad background. Bear with me. I'm new at this...:D

Attachments

• boxwood.jpg
    boxwood.jpg
    86.1 KB · Views: 345

Smoke

Ignore-Amus
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Interesting clump. I like the main portion and the slant. The lower branch on the right seems to blend but if it were mine that branch on the left would be removed, keeping it more of a slanted form.

How tall? Seems pretty large and the pot is nice, hand made?

Al

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I've been working to get more delineation in the pads. The angle of the shot and low res blends the pads at the right a bit.

This one grows like a weed and is need of a hack back to get more definition. The trunk on the left has bothered me for years, as it sticks out like a sore thumb. Don't know if removing it is the answer, but can't really bend it much without breaking it off--it's about as thick as my thumb at the base.

The tree is about 26" tall and about about 20" wide. I got the 19x15x3 pot from Ron Lang at the Potomac Bonsai Show last year. Got it with this tree in mind, as the former tokoname pot's glaze completely broke down and developed weird looking spots after a few winters under pine mulch :rolleyes: The pic doesn't do this pot much justice. It is his seafoam green glaze, but breaks to greys and blacks in places. It's subtle, but still colorful.

Ken Duncan

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi Rock, I like this group of Boxwoods. I hope You do not mind, I did a virt showing the whole planting tilted to the left. I think that some movement in the trunks would make this really pop.
Very nice.
Ken

Attachments

• boxwood3.jpg
    boxwood3.jpg
    89 KB · Views: 166

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Ken,