Chinese Elm - Yellowing & Dropping Leaves

epiphonesj

Seed
Reaction score
I'm new to Bonsai and have had my Chinese Elm for approx 1 month.
I've been watering when the top soil is dry but for the last week I've been noticing many leaves turning yellow and dropping off.
I'm wondering if its due to the new environment and potential over watering when it has been dry. Typically once watered it's dry again within a few days.

Current condition:
PXL_20220123_145758792.jpg
PXL_20220123_145753147.jpg

Past photos:
PXL_20211216_232652050.jpg

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
Greeting Traveller!

I used to have an Epiphone Semi-hollow that I liked alot.

Glad another Minstrel has stumbled into this corner of the Tiny Forest.

The Woody Dwarves (Pa-is) will be pleased at your musical arrival.

This place is like a suh-weet communal flea market.. Most trade knowledge/experience.. and will "front" you.. until you gain your own.

I will help you, as others will.. but we need a few questions answered first.

Where are you, generally, located on this sphere, here... Conditions/climates Vary EVERY where.. We are hosting members from Alaska to South Africa... So THIS info will help.

What direction is that window facing?

Where you live... How are your winters? All trees PREFER outside.. and if you are any warmer, in climate, than I.. this tree COULD be spending winters outside...

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Normally a bit of leaf drop is to be expected as a tree adjusts to a new environment. However, you may be under-watering it. If the tree is planted in free-draining soil, water should be absorbed right away and flow straight through and out the bottom. If that's the case -- which is ideal for the tree -- you may want to water more often.The key is that, if planted in proper soil, bonsai trees are very different from other potted plants and it's very difficult to over-water them.

epiphonesj

Seed
Reaction score
Thanks @HorseloverFat !