Chinese Elm - Yellowing of leaves

HK90

Seed
Reaction score
Hi

Please lend me some wisdom– I’m a newbie to bonsai care!!
I was given a Chinese Elm as a gift at the end of March.

I initially kept it in indoors, and within a few weeks, the leaves were yellowing very slightly, and I noticed some flies appearing around the base of the tree(which I think may have been fungus gnats?). I think I may have been overwatering it.

I have since moved it outside, to a relatively sunny spot, and only water once top soil appears dry, its been pretty warm though at the moment (I'm in the Netherlands), so has been daily.

However the leaves are still looking slightly yellow/red, especially the newer ones coming through.
  • Any advice on what may be the cause of the yellowing leaves
  • Do you think its worth re potting? Is the root system is a bit too exposed?

IMG-20200513-WA0002.jpgIMG-20200513-WA0003.jpgIMG-20200513-WA0004.jpg

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
That's normal and those leaves will evolve green. You should fertilize every other week to once a month with any commercial liquid at label strength. Water every day it doesn't rain. These are better outdoor than indoor trees, although they will live as houseplants. The leaves will begin to drop in January or so, and figs are better house guest, but they go both ways.

Elm are fast growers that need to be kept in-bounds by pinching the tips and/or continual trimming.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to the site!