Collecting a Hawthorn

MacSpook

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Very nice. What mix did you go with after?

Thanks, 1-1-1 pumice, horticultural grit and clay pebbles. I also added some mycorrhizal fungi pellets.

MacSpook

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
At the moment, my long term plan is to wait until it has fully recovered and maybe sometime in 2023/24 air-layer at one of the yellow lines and chop the trunk back to the red line as suggested by @Brian Van Fleet. I like the shape and movement in the bottom part and I also like the movement in the upper part and I think it has potential as a separate tree so I don't want to make the lower chop now and throw away the top part.

d08 chop.jpg

I realise that making good decisions early in development will save time in later years and I'm new to this so will consider any opinions or advice.

MacSpook

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Thought I'd have a go at the root cuttings.

20220201_192317.jpg

50/50 potting grit and pumice.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Just need to be patient now and let it grow.
I've found them to be slow to recover. Some can be worked after a year, others need 2 years or more before sufficient root recovery for more work. Your tree has great potential so please don't rush it.

Apex37

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
In part two of this relatively recent podcast I believe Harry says he puts newly collected deciduous trees in straight pumice. I seriously could have missed something but think he said -collect, plastic bag to retain moisture, home, next morning clean field soil and into pumice. This may be a newer approach, dunno.

Makes perfect sense to me with some pine bark in there, to each..

Podcast looks like this:
View attachment 416122
FANTASTIC song choice playing

BobbyLane

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score