Developing pine, did I make a mistake?

Ninecloud

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Might have made a mistake. I cut first year new growth off on bottoms to focus energy to sacrificial. Was that the wrong idea? Then read an article by Jonas, saying let em grow out for 9 years? Or am I reading wrong?.. sorry, getting some info mixed up, and can't find my way back. Any help would be appreciated

Attachments

• 20230525_153129.jpg
    20230525_153129.jpg
    261.2 KB · Views: 101
  • 20230525_153123.jpg
    20230525_153123.jpg
    401.8 KB · Views: 99
  • 20230524_130736.jpg
    20230524_130736.jpg
    401.1 KB · Views: 100

TrevorLarsen

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
What kind of pine is it? I’m no expert but if you only have growth on the sacrificial branch the when you sacrifice it you will have no tree. IMO you want to keep the tree in balance not focus energy more on the sacrificial branch.

Ninecloud

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
They are JBP, thats kinnda what I thought too

Japonicus

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Best to leave the apex as sacrifice untouched, while developing the tree below it.

see post #3 by Adair M and search decandling black pine or JBP

Ninecloud

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Best to leave the apex as sacrifice untouched, while developing the tree below it.

yo, thank you for this. only telperion stuff ive been seeing is top down repotting, etc and the great work John Eads been doing. Did not even think to look here to see if they had Dev material. This is awesome.

Tele

Yamadori
Reaction score
He describes that the lower branches are kept. I have seen it done in videos (thickening by height) and they did not keep lower branches.
The trees started making these lower branches after 6/7 years. It was about redpines, can´t find it...

Ninecloud

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a