Development ideas

Mimstrel

Sapling
Reaction score
I have been growing this Amur maple for three years (purchased for $10 on clearance) and am trying to decide where to cut it back to this winter. Thought I would share and see what other people would do if it was theirs.
A8F50C8F-9904-4ED1-B86B-09A41C372C47.jpeg
16392F78-3A85-48AF-AAB6-6170E49C4291.jpeg
I did take it back a little over the summer. I’ve learned that this tree is quite vigorous and can handle some summer pruning without any theatrics. The first summer was pretty rough (the other Amur maple I bought at the same time died back almost to the ground) but since then I’ve felt really good about how this tree has responded. Anyway, if you are thinking that the top is a little sparse, summer pruning is why.

Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
second picture - cut the trunk back to above the branch that is on the same level as the window in the background and make that the leader, at least for now. Perhaps try some wiring on the branches, too.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I wouldn't cut it back this year.

I'd try to introduce some movement into those first 2 branches, and eventually cut back to the one that didn't break!

Sorce

one_bonsai

Shohin
Reaction score
Yikes!... That nebari. Might want to consider ground layering it at some point.

Mimstrel

Sapling
Reaction score
second picture - cut the trunk back to above the branch that is on the same level as the window in the background and make that the leader, at least for now. Perhaps try some wiring on the branches, too.
This is where I've been planning to cut back to.

I'd try to introduce some movement into those first 2 branches, and eventually cut back to the one that didn't break!