Genetic pre-programmed apex?

TheDarkHorseOne

Sapling
Reaction score
I was watching a thing the other day here on the 'net and it had a pretty fine explanation for how trees grow naturally. From what I could gather, it seems species of tree have a sort of 'You can only ride this ride if you're __ tall' gene within them. In other words, once they achieve what the approximate height of their species is, they sort of top off the apex, and then begin to develop outward, or sort of fill out their genetic outline, which, in turn, makes the tree look older as a result. I think you can find examples in nature of that happening, Bald Cypress being an example, but many deciduous trees might have this built in mechanism of growth.

I'm just a rookie and when I heard this, it made a lot of sense to me as to how the trees I see daily act. I was wondering your thoughts on it, and if you find that such knowledge might be used to further define the aesthetics of a large part of bonsai species, as in, if we know this in nature, we should be trying for this in the pot...

I'm not advocating this at all, but I DO see a logic in it, and while the rule of thirds is very pleasing to the eye, nature sometimes comes up with better.

So this is just tentacles of a thought process out to you all to get a feel of what you might think.

bonsai barry

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Another factor in determining apex growth is a type of chemical compound known as Auxin. Here is a definition from the American Heritage Scientific dictionary:

auxin (ôksn)