Hello from San Diego

Sweeks

Seedling
Reaction score
Evening to the night lurkers. Just wanted to introduce myself and start participating. My name is Steven and am knew to bonsai. I live in San Diego and have just recently purchased a few nursery stock plants to practice with and learn on. This site is awesome. Learned more in the last two weeks I have been trolling then the 3 months prior to that spent on Google. I have some background in growing indoors( mainly hydroponics) and spent a good portion of my life doing saltwater reef tanks. Look forward to learning and making some new friends. Hope everyone has a good one!

Good Morning Steven,

You may have noticed, we have a few reefers too, and a few reefers even!

What kind of trees did you get?

Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Welcome to the nuthouse Steven!

Evening to the night lurkers. Just wanted to introduce myself and start participating. My name is Steven and am knew to bonsai. I live in San Diego and have just recently purchased a few nursery stock plants to practice with and learn on. This site is awesome. Learned more in the last two weeks I have been trolling then the 3 months prior to that spent on Google. I have some background in growing indoors( mainly hydroponics) and spent a good portion of my life doing saltwater reef tanks. Look forward to learning and making some new friends. Hope everyone has a good one!

So about three months ago bonsai peaked your interest? Welcome to the hobby! What was it that drew your eye to bonsai? We all have our own stories. Mine was from learning I could raise a tree that had sentimental value to me...in a pot that wasn't zone friendly. (Though I don't recommend doing trees that aren't zoned to ones native area unless you research and can provide adequate wintering)

So...what stock plants did you purchase? And are your intentions to raise them with your hydroponics set up then?