Help needed repotting

JojoDav

Seed
Reaction score
My bonsai tree roots are large approx. 6-7 inch deep and I think this is my fault as I fell into the trap of thinking when I repot it that they need to go in a larger pot. I would like to either maintain the pot size or reduce the pot, these tree have kinda been left to their own devices other than being watered, fed and potted. Please can you help me by letting me know what the best out of the two above would be. I am a novice and would like to ensure I treat them with love as I have had them a good 10 years. Ideally I want to purchase a bonsai pot but they aren’t that deep so that might not be the best action but if I did purchase one that was a good 5 inch deep will it kill off the tree? It is time to repot so please help me with this. I am putting pics of the types of trees I have, I know I haven’t trimmed them but that is next on the list to learn how to do that after potting them. Thanks for the help in advance. [attachment=37121]D1A30EBB-B2A5-4965-A0D6-5380CAEB96F1.jpeg[/attachment] [attachment=37121]D1A30EBB-B2A5-4965-A0D6-5380CAEB96F1.jpeg[/attachment]

Attachments

• 289729C5-5E27-41DD-9A3E-D71DCF5CF57A.jpeg
    289729C5-5E27-41DD-9A3E-D71DCF5CF57A.jpeg
    148.4 KB · Views: 39

Mikecheck123

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
A bonsai pot should be fine. These are pretty tough. Obviously the watering requirements will increase the smaller you go.

JojoDav

Seed
Reaction score
A bonsai pot should be fine. These are pretty tough. Obviously the watering requirements will increase the smaller you go.
So if I just get a pot that has a certain depth the roots are about 6inch deep so do I try to find one that is 6-7inch deep because these are hard to find? What is the smaller depth I could go if I continue to have issues finding one this deep?

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?