Japanese Black Pine - 1yr old, complete newbie mama

shawtymama

Seedling
Reaction score
Also, I know the soil looks sodden. It's because it kind of is. We had dry weather the past couple weeks so I just gave her a good dousing. Don't panic, 95% comes out the drainage holes when watering, especially on this occasion as it had dried enough to reveal that root when I watered. Actually drowned her twice on this occasion as 1st watering went straight down the dry sides and out the bottom 🤦🏻‍♀️

Zelrod

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9b
Soil is like religion to bonsai practitioners. In the end you want to find something that works well for your climate and watering schedule. Most people recommend coarse well draining soil, with at least 50% of it being inorganic. There are numerous fired clay products, volcanic soils, and a few organic soils that people mix to suit their needs.

A general soil mix is 1 part lava rock or pumice, 1 part fired clay particles (tons of options here), 1 part small pine bark. It's a good general soil mix until you learn what ratios might be better the next time you pot. Generally, the tree does better with substantial air exchange to the roots without them drying out completely. Think hydroponics almost. Most of us have jobs that prevent us from being able to water multiple times a day so that's where the pine bark or organic matter comes into play, it holds the moisture a little longer than most inorganic components.

You will not find a "best" soil mix. There are many "good" soil mixes that can be created easily. We all have found something that works for us and our conditions.

Short of letting your pine completely dry out, it should be able to withstand most challenges at this age. Most pines like drier soil than broadleaf or deciduous trees.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?