JBP air layer advice

Dirty Nails

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I have a JBP in my garden and there are a couple of places ready for an air layering. This is my first time air layering and I don't want to screw it up. I've read some articles about it but mine seems larger than any others I have seen online. If they work they will have good trunks
(2" +/-) and low branches. Should I cut off the loooong center growth from the whorl before air layering? Here is what I have, please correct me or straighten me out if needed.

Clear girddle area of needles
Cut off all new growth on top of candles.
Cut ring size of branch. Deep but not too deep which I am unclear on.
Cut 6 vertical slits through the cut ring.
Wrap nursery pot around ring, wire close and pack with wet moss.
Keep moist but not soaking until fall and there will be roots.

Thank you for you kind guidance

Pic 1 air layer site of 2
Pic 2 whole branch with looong node.
Pic 3 air layer site of 4 (look at the nice bend already in place above the to be "trunk"
Pic 4 whole branch

Attachments

• 002.jpg
    002.jpg
    202.5 KB · Views: 44
  • 003.jpg
    003.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 39
  • 004.jpg
    004.jpg
    210.5 KB · Views: 38
  • 005.jpg
    005.jpg
    200.3 KB · Views: 37
Last edited:

johng

Omono
Reaction score
You certainly picked a challenging species to air layer. The only person I know that is regularly successful is George Muranaka(sp?) in California. He has regular success with JBP but I am not sure many others have??? ...much to their frustration.