Mums the word

Gnome

Mame
Reaction score
Hello to everyone. Has anyone else ever worked with Chrysanthemum as bonsai? This is my first full cycle with them. I started this as a cutting last Fall and over-wintered the roots and then trained it this Summer.

Norm

Attachments

• Mum.jpg
    Mum.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 57

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
No experience with 'em

Hi Gnome;

I have no experience with them - they are challenging enough in my garden :) I would think one of the challenges would be for you to maintain compact growth without removing the blossoms. How large are you trying to grow it out to be? It appears to be already branch-trained but perhaps you might consider growing it out like a black or white pine - i.e. allow free growth for a while and cut back hard to the first branch, then train the first branch as the new trunk, etc. I saw someone do this once with English Ivy and they had an amazing 2" thick base in just a few years.

Gnome

Mame
Reaction score
BonsaiNut,

How large are you trying to grow it out to be? It appears to be already branch-trained but perhaps you might consider growing it out like a black or white pine - i.e. allow free growth for a while and cut back hard to the first branch, then train the first branch as the new trunk, etc.

My experience with them as bonsai is limited as well. From what I understand while it is possible to over-winter the trunk and continue next year, the location of new growth can be unpredictable. The other route is to start anew every year. I am going to keep this one frost free this winter and play it by ear next spring. I also have some new cuttings and will have another go at it next year.

Norm

Bonsai Nut

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Well, well... you learn something new every day :)

mumbonsai.jpg

Sounds like you missed a great show at the National Arboretum. I sent Jum Hughes an email for more info. That is an amazing looking bonsai.