Need Ideas. For Rescued Jade Plant And A Lemon Cypress

Reaction score
I am very new to bonsai but I am not new to gardening.

I have a couple of jade plants and I think they would make good bonsai but I need ideas. When I bought them they were struggling and looked unhealthy. Their soil was not good. Now they are in better soil and healthier.

And

On the first one there was a second stem that was as ling as the other one but it dropped and hung vertical down from the pot. I tried to see how bendable it was today and it broke. I am looking for ideas! I have no idea where to start, I have images in my mind but dont know of they are possible not how to do them. So I was hoping you folks could give me an opinion on what you think would be a good idea and some steps towards that.

I also have a lemon cypress here (miniature) and I have the same question

Let me know what you think!

Reaction score
The cypress looks like it's browning in that picture but it's just the lighting. It's quite healthy. I can post an image of the close up of the trunk if need be, but I'm running into issues uploading images

Housguy

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10a
I believe the jade you have is the bigger leafed species, not great for bonsai, but will work as a good training tree. The lemon cypress is nice, will need to get some movement going with that tree unless you going to do a broom stick type style bonsai with it.

penumbra

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Where are you? Lemon cypress won't live in my zone.

Reaction score
For the jade I know it's not ideal for a traditional bonsai but yeah I want to train it in some way. I want to bend the lemon but I'm not sure of the best way/when/where to do it and how it relates to pruning. It had just been pruned when I got it a couple of weeks ago so I dont know If I should prune it more just yet.