Newbie in at the deep end

Bon Sigh

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hi friends,
I am new to bonsai, but over the past few months, I have been reading, watching videos and experimenting on my own with nursery stock in several species and have been content to learn by making mistakes.

Now, however, I have an opportunity that I don't want to mess up. A developer is letting me harvest a spectacular pine specimen (species unknown). It is a beautiful tree, about 3ft tall perhaps 4 ft square, with multiple thick trunks with a ton of movement, great nibari, etc. It is growing in the front bed at a house that is being torn down. Because it is against a house and concrete steps and next to a driveway, I suspect it is already growing with a root system that is at least somewhat constrained.

So, suddenly I have potentially a spectacular tree that might be decades old. How to I do this without messing it up? I am thinking of digging it out and planting it in a pot. Can I go straight to a bonsai style pot with an akadama-gravel-sphagnum mix? Is there an intermediate step? I assume I will eventually reduce this to one trunk. Should I do that at the same time as moving to a pot or is it better to wait?

Attachments

• IMG-4074.jpg
    IMG-4074.jpg
    177.7 KB · Views: 170

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Welcome to the forum!

I'm bad with conifers, I heard not to chop/prune more than 30%. I think a training pot is the best to start with.

Shogun610

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B
Keep as much as possible for roots if you can. Use pumice for a collected Pine. Then let it recover for a season or two. If it pushes new growth in spring you might be able to lightly style but don’t touch roots for 2 years.

thatguy

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b