Over 2 years air-layering a juniper and still barely nothing. Does it always take this long?

NamesakE

Mame
Reaction score
I've been air-layering this juniper for about 2 1/2 years and there's barely any roots. The top is completely separated from the top and both are flourishing. What am I doing wrong?
It's probably hard to see but there's barely any roots. I put a couple more wounds on the general area but I'm not sure how much it'll help. I don't think the branch is thick enough to warrant that length of time.

Attachments

• 20230528_155542.jpg
    20230528_155542.jpg
    345.4 KB · Views: 123

Paradox

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
It doesnt look like you have a clean cut around the whole thing or it has bridged the cut.
If you just made small wounds hoping it would make roots from those, it wont. You have to completely separate the two areas.

Also Junipers are very hard to air layer and do not have a very high success rate if any.

Last edited:

NamesakE

Mame
Reaction score
It doesnt look like you have a clean cut around the whole thing or it has bridged the cut.
If you just made small wounds hoping it would make roots from those, it wont. You have to completely separate the two areas.

Also Junipers are very hard to air layer and do not have a very high success rate if any.
That's a bummer! I thought they air-layered easily! I checked the area and it's completely separated (you can't see from the pictures but it's completely detached and slightly swollen at the base of the cut area). There are some roots but they're small and stringy. I'm surprised the top is doing that good just from feedback from the rootstock. Guess I'll just keep waiting and hoping.

NamesakE

Mame
Reaction score

Attachments

• 20230528_160217.jpg
    20230528_160217.jpg
    502.9 KB · Views: 110

NamesakE

Mame
Reaction score
What the whole plants looks like.

BrightsideB

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a