Please help me keep my new Bonsai alive and happy!/Identification

Tsveta

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
A complete beginner here. I was given a bonsai as a present and since I haven’t had any luck with them so far, I would really like this one to survive so I would much appreciate your help and advice. I’ve read the basics… again… but I still feel unprepared and intimidated. I can’t seem to identify the species of my bonsai so as to do a more specific research into the care requirements for my type. I have attached photos. Could any of you kindly help me with that? And if you can recognise what kind is my bonsai is, would you give me any species-related recommendation, especially to do with watering. This seems to be the hardest. Is it the case that it needs to be sprayed every day and if so, do I spray the leaves? I’ve also been told that I need to water with boiled water cooled to room temperature as tab water is too hard.
The tree looks healthy and has plenty of new buds, which makes me think that I shouldn’t trim the few dry tips just yet? What concerns me most is the thin layer of mold on the soil top. What should I do about that?
Thank you in advance for your help and sorry for the long post.

Attachments

• WP_20130429_004.jpg
    WP_20130429_004.jpg
    198.1 KB · Views: 97
  • WP_20130429_003.jpg
    WP_20130429_003.jpg
    202.1 KB · Views: 49

Redwood Ryan

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7A
Welcome!

Your tree looks like a Chinese Elm. Watch your watering in that kind of soil, as it will hold a lot of water and cause you to overwater.

Where do you live? Please fill out your profile so we know. Chinese Elms are typically outdoor trees and will do best outdoors, so if I were you, once your last frost has occurred, I'd put it out there (but once again, location is important).

Tsveta

Seedling
Reaction score
Welcome!