Portulacaria afra - Trunk base has different texture + white fuzz

Jinx

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello!

I've gotten this bonsai tree a few months ago as a gift so I am still new at taking care of it. I am a little concerned about 2 things and I would appreciate your help/advice on them!

First Problem:
I've noticed that the base of the trunk looks a lot more flaky/shriveled up compared to other parts of the plant (seen in Image 1).
When I got the bonsai tree, I thought it might have been because of the water from the soil was in too much contact with that part of the truck. But it started to grow more upward and seems more shriveled up/darker than before (more close up in Image 3 + 4).

I have heard of Cork Bark Jade (Portulacaria Afra) but I'm not sure if this bonsai tree is a cork bark variety. I am also thinking that it might be trunk rot. Any ideas what it might be?

Second Problem:
Recently, I've noticed that there are white fuzz near the bonsai tree's trunk/roots (seen in Image 5, 6, + 7). It seems like a mold/fungal growth from overwatering.
I'm not sure if I should just sweep the white fuzz things and soil away from the base of the tree and expose the widening trunk base where the roots spreads out. And possible use Neem Oil spray to make sure the white fuzz doesn't come back.
OR
Repot the bonsai tree in dry soil and remove any root rot that it might have

Any suggestions/ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

Attachments

• Image 1.jpg
    Image 1.jpg
    107.4 KB · Views: 84
  • Image 2.jpg
    Image 2.jpg
    126.9 KB · Views: 83
  • Image 3.JPG
    Image 3.JPG
    137.6 KB · Views: 68
  • Image 4.JPG
    Image 4.JPG
    97.3 KB · Views: 68
  • Image 5.jpg
    Image 5.jpg
    152.2 KB · Views: 71
  • Image 6.jpg
    Image 6.jpg
    178.7 KB · Views: 72
  • Image 7.jpg
    Image 7.jpg
    195.2 KB · Views: 91

Srt8madness

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
The white looks like mycelium, likely harmless. The rest doesn't look concerning.