Procumbens rework

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
This is a procumbens I have been working with for about 6 years. Originally a very unhealthy tree that I passed on at the nursery the firt time I saw it. However, about half a year later, the tree was still there and had some new buds. I bought it and nursed it back to full health then began working on it. It went through some styling changes for the first 4 years. However, it always had a dramatic, too dramatic for me, sweep to the right. Also, from a health perspective, with the lean to the side and forward, the front bottom half of the tree was not getting enough sun.

I have been planning a redo on this tree for about a year. The first pic is the tree out of winter storage. Over the years, I have noticed a challenge with slender trunked more elegant trees. That is keeping the silhouette in scale to the trunk. With a thick trunk tree, a larger silhoutte can be passable. With a thinner trunk tree, it is tough to not let the tree outgrow the silhouette, much wiring, pulling branches down and in and chasing the foliage back are constant concerns.

This tree will be put in a nice pot this season.

Rob

Copyofb1_zpsa7e7523d.jpg

Copyofj3_zps2644ec9d.jpg

Last edited:

jk_lewis

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7-8
It IS nice, but I think it would be even nicer with a little less top. (And at least shorten one of the bar-branch jin. I think I'd just get rid of the top one.)

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Thanks everyone.. A nice pot will make this tree stand out more, as well as showing the bottom of the trunk with the shari.

Hi jkl.. Ya, I thought about the top. However, for health reasons, I did not want to chase back the growth any more. Well see, I might just let it grow wild again and then cut back again next year.

You are spot on about the jins. Thanks for seeing that. I will most likely be getting rid of the top one.

Rob

Last edited:

Beng

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b