Re-pot Bonsai or not? Please help

elitef

Seed
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to plants and do not have much of a green thumb, but I purchased a Bonsai tree at a local store which had them on sale and I've grown to like it very much.
I purchased it about a month and a half ago, and have been watering it every week, once a week.

The tree is in a climate controlled room, not by a window.

This morning I noticed that the tree is starting to get dry spots on the branches/leaves, but not sure why since i water it once a week.

I was thinking of maybe re-potting it, but I am unsure how to do it, nor what is needed in order to get the job done.

The following is a picture of my tree in order for you experts to know what kind it is at least, because I have no clue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• image1.JPG
    image1.JPG
    334.4 KB · Views: 80
  • image2.JPG
    image2.JPG
    411.9 KB · Views: 72
  • image3.JPG
    image3.JPG
    395.1 KB · Views: 75

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
The tree doesn't look bad/sick, but the soil looks REALLY WET - almost like it is a swamp. Here are general pointers...

(1) Soil should never be saturated (like a swimming pool). You should be able to water the tree and the water should flow right through the soil and out through the bottom of the pot. The soil particles will be wet, but you should never see any standing water.

(2) Moss on top of the soil is generally a bad thing. It blocks air and keeps the soil too wet. It is better to have mostly uncovered soil. If you want to have a little moss, that is fine, but it should not cover 100% of the soil.

(3) Make sure your pot drains freely. If water is pooling in the bottom of the pot, it is time to find a different pot. Bonsai pots typically are designed to have plenty of drainage.

elitef

Seed
Reaction score