Satsuki Azalea - Wintering Advice

Nadyr

Seed
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Hello all! I am fairly new to bonsai, having been entrusted with a Satsuki azalea after my grandmother's funeral in April. Winter is coming so I thought I ought to make an account and ask for wintering advice, as internet searching hasn't yielded a clear answer. Winters here can be very cold, typically in the 20's (F) January and February but sometimes getting as low -10 F during severe winters. My assumption is I'll need to take it inside during the coldest months, but I'm not sure what factors I need to take into account to keep the bonsai healthy.

I've read cultivar can be relevant to care, but I'm unfortunately not sure what cultivar I'm caring for (my mother purchased the bonsai but did not keep track of many details). I'll add a couple details and pictures in the hopes that will help with identification:
-Satsuki azalea, blooms with large pink flowers
-Began blooming the first week of August, still blooming today (Nov 7th)
-Shipping label indicates it was grown in Mississippi
-Some leaves are turning yellow/orange and falling off as of the beginning of November, most still appear deep green (seems to coincide with the temperature dropping)

Attachments

• photo_2022-11-07_19-37-50.jpg
    photo_2022-11-07_19-37-50.jpg
    367.8 KB · Views: 40
  • photo_2022-11-07_19-38-01.jpg
    photo_2022-11-07_19-38-01.jpg
    322.3 KB · Views: 31
  • photo_2022-11-07_19-37-33.jpg
    photo_2022-11-07_19-37-33.jpg
    175.7 KB · Views: 36

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Welcome to the site!

If you could add your location to your profile, it will help people give you the best advice. USDA Zone 6a is pretty big... and there are friendlier 6a's and nastier 6a's :)

jandslegate

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to the site!