Shimpaku juniper styling advise.

VAFisher

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I'm finding that there are at least two bonsai nurserys around me within two to three hours. It took me 6 hrs to make my way to Green Thumb. I was happy just to see container shimpakus for sale.

Eric,

How did you take the cuttings off of your juniper? Did you air layer? Or can you cut the branch in spring and use root hormone? I am pretty new at propagating branches.

Matt, I'm about 30 miles west of you in Goochland County. Just curious what bonsai nurserys you're referring to?

Also, if you haven't checked them out already, take a looks at Strange's Nursery and The Gardener Nursery out by Short Pump. Although they aren't bonsai nurserys, you can find some decent material to play around with at both places. Strange's actually does have a small bonsai section but it's mostly junk - although you may stumble across an occassional gem. If you go to Gardener, be prepared to spend a couple hours because that guy can talk.

Matt Branches

Seedling
Reaction score
VA Fisher, I agree regarding strange's bonsai quality but I have found some necessities like pots and wire. Also I'm drawn to the Great Big Greenhouse's selection. I have not been to The Gardner yet, I'll have to check them out.

The three bonsai nursery's I'm wanting to visit but have not been to yet are.

Gardens Unlimited near Fredericksburg VA

Celestial Gardens in Brandywine MD

Park's Bonsai farm in Suffolk VA

Have you herd of or been to these places yet?​

Last edited:

VAFisher

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a