Trident and Japanese maples airlayering?

Reaction score
I am very new to bonsai. I went to a nursery and got some trees before really thinking it over. These trees are tall 3 to 4 feet tall. I was thinking f trunk chopping them but Leo thinking of air layering. All will wait till April or May of 2017. But would like ideas. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_4642.JPG
    IMG_4642.JPG
    558.1 KB · Views: 118
  • IMG_4643.JPG
    IMG_4643.JPG
    474.4 KB · Views: 118
  • IMG_4641.JPG
    IMG_4641.JPG
    448.2 KB · Views: 116
  • IMG_4640.JPG
    IMG_4640.JPG
    441.4 KB · Views: 118
  • IMG_4595.JPG
    IMG_4595.JPG
    382.6 KB · Views: 115

Soldano666

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5is
Nice trews. welcome. Do all the research you can find on these species until next spring. There tons of information here on the forum then go hard when. The season right. Personally I'd make a bunch of airlayers next year to give me some Back up material. For down the road. All depend on your expectations and patience. Oh and get more trees...

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
First thing to look at is the base of the tree and the surface roots - they are the hardest things to fix. Then look at the trunk and ask yourself whether the trunk has the line and the taper that both fits your design, and makes your bonsai look convincingly like an old tree in nature.

In the case of many nursery Japanese Maples, they are grafted. This can often lead to ugly graft scars or bulges that would not be in issue in a landscape plant, but are huge problems with a bonsai. If you have a bad graft, the only real solution is to air-layer above the graft... so that leads to one direction on your development path.