Watering A Repotted Maple

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
So I repotted two maples (one pic is attached) into bonsai pots and this is my first time ever doing so. My question is the soil medium level is convex to the top of the pot and while I've seen more than one like this on the boards, how the heck do you water the tree and not wash away the soil medium? Just water carefully?

1000001781.jpg

rockm

Spuds Moyogi
Reaction score
USDA Zone
So I repotted two maples (one pic is attached) into bonsai pots and this is my first time ever doing so. My question is the soil medium level is convex to the top of the pot and while I've seen more than one like this on the boards, how the heck do you water the tree and not wash away the soil medium? Just water carefully?

View attachment 530761
Potting a little lower is the best defense against runoff pulling soil. You should have reduced the bottom of the root mass another 1" to 2". Soil should be level or 1/4" or so below the rim. That makes watering less destructive and more productive, since all the water goes through the pot and not down the exterior.

That's water under the bridge though 😁 At this point, sphagnum moss spread thinly over the top will help keep the soil in place as well as keep it more humid underneath for new roots. A watering wand or similar that has a fine to extremely fine spray also helps tremendously.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Thanks for the responses. I will add the grated sphagnum moss. I pruned the root mass as much as I thought possibly could without killing the trees. As a novice, perhaps the veterans here have experienced this but on one of trees as I got closer to the base of tree the entangled roots were literally like a block of wood.

Arbol

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
That's water under the bridge though 😁 At this point, sphagnum moss spread thinly over the top will help keep the soil in place as well as keep it more humid underneath for new roots.