What bonsai things would you have done differently had you known?

reddog

Mame
Reaction score
Done differently? I would have chosen a bonsai instructor who knew how to teach. Mine was an apprentice in Japan and good artist. However, I learned very little from him. Also had a weird laugh. Live and learn.

Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I got started on a wisteria and it was the one that taught me this lesson actually! It took about three months to set. With how fast they grow, I’m half tempted to suggest them to folks to learn this very lesson as quick as I did 😅 it’s just a shame they’re so brittle to wire just before they bud out. But I’m still a newbie so I was blown away and am still learning new things.

As for what I learned: don’t be afraid to get a sunshade, to fail, and to add organic materials to your mix because you live in a hot climate where you’d otherwise be watering almost non-stop if you used nothing but inorganic. Just these three things killed a beautiful ginkgo I had bought from a friend and I’m still kicking myself.
I’ve been thinking about this. We get well up over 105*, in the summer

Trying to think of what needs to be done that would hold enough water in summer, yet stays a bit drier in winter

Even organic mix was drying out after half a day in a 2gal pot when it’s 110+

Honestly, prob my only option… or I repot going into fall which sounds like a very bad idea

alivation

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I’ve been thinking about this. We get well up over 105*, in the summer

Trying to think of what needs to be done that would hold enough water in summer, yet stays a bit drier in winter

Even organic mix was drying out after half a day in a 2gal pot when it’s 110+

Honestly, prob my only option… or I repot going into fall which sounds like a very bad idea