New Bonsai owner needs help saving his trees!

Cormaximus

Seed
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm very new to this and recieved a "Redwood Bonsai" kit a year ago. I've been growing them from seeds and while I had a rough start really started to see some promise about 6 weeks ago. Up until 2 weeks ago, we were also looking great (picture attached)! But since then it's really gone downhill. 2nd picture is recently and it's getting worse. Overall loss of colour, yellowing (I'm guessing stressed/dying) of plants, and no growth.

I'm new so I'm sure it's due to mistakes I'm making. I could have been overwatering as when they were very young I was to keep them very wet (per instructions with seeds). I've cut back on that but am just watching them get worse so I'm hoping I can get some advice so I can save my little guys.healthy.JPGsick.JPG
This is the description of the kit I got
"Bring the essence of nature and meditative relaxation to your life with this engaging bonsai kit. It contains everything you need to cultivate a grove of miniature trees that you foster along, from seedling to bonsai forest—redwood and moss seeds, growing medium, seedling training pots, bonsai shears, river stones, detailed directions, and a steel grow box.

These tiny trees are actually ancestors of the giant California redwood. Called Dawn redwoods, they were thought to be extinct until the 1940s, when one was discovered growing in a rice field in central China. And even though its towering relative is an evergreen, the Dawn redwood is one of only two known deciduous conifers. In the fall, their leafy needles turn from green to yellow to copper, bringing the pageant of the changing seasons to your desk or kitchen window. Kit made in Idaho."

Last edited:
Umm.... this does not look like redwood at all to me.