New Bonsai Owner seeking help to identify/care for injured plants

Jcspangl

Seed
Reaction score
Hello friends,

I am new to the world of Bonsai ownership, but have a deep love for these little trees! I recently purchased two Bonsai trees, one, a juniper, about a month ago, and the other, not sure what kind, last week. They were just re-potted today, I was awaiting the soil to arrive via Amazon due to the pandemic, but I am concerned over the change in their appearance. My juniper has been turning brown/yellow and the other poor plant is losing leaves fast (they were very droopy when I first got them). I had to leave for two days and when I returned this morning, my new bonsai was very wilted looking (It was kept inside by the window during this time).

I placed them both in Bonsai Jack's soil and added Bonsai fertilizer pellets to their soil. They have been watered, and I try to mist them every day. Attached you will find pictures of when I first got them, versus them today in the new soil.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated, as I would hate to see them die.

Attachments

• new bonsai upon purchase.jpg
    new bonsai upon purchase.jpg
    268.8 KB · Views: 41
  • New Bonsai post potting.jpg
    New Bonsai post potting.jpg
    246.9 KB · Views: 42
  • new bonsai post potting air view.jpg
    new bonsai post potting air view.jpg
    219.2 KB · Views: 40
  • juniper bonsai before repotting.jpg
    juniper bonsai before repotting.jpg
    308.4 KB · Views: 40
  • juniper bonsai post potting.jpg
    juniper bonsai post potting.jpg
    264.5 KB · Views: 39
  • juniper bonsai post potting front view.jpg
    juniper bonsai post potting front view.jpg
    285.2 KB · Views: 37
Welcome!

So the juniper looks dead unfortunately.
The other tree looks like fukien tea.... super tough trees for even the experienced bonsai artist. They are temperamental buggers.

Repotting of healthy trees is done in early spring.

Misting not required outdoors.