Another stump

John Hill

Mame
Reaction score
This is another stump that I have been demising for the last four years or so. It is close to being somewhat a nice tree. Bonsai? I don't know but it will make a nice tree in my backyard.
I was going to approach graft it to better the nebari but decided not to. Could cause more problems then it already has. It is slowly growing on me and I like looking at it in the fall.

A Friend in bonsai
John

irene_b

Omono
Reaction score
Bonsai's can be Imperial sized as well John.
Irene

Dale Cochoy

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
John,
I'm no expert, but...
that trident looks like pretty darn good stock to me!

Dale

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I would try leaning the trunk to the left and see what comes up out of the soil on the right. Here is a quick virtual of what you could do just sinking the left side. Suddenly the branch on the right becomes a possible new leader. I don't know but I love the potential of this trunk and I would shift it until I got a nice nebari, then I would decide on the upper half of the tree design with what the nerbari dictated...

trident_5.jpg

Rick Moquin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
John,

To me stumpy as you affectionately call him is not a major detraction IMO. Mind you it is a fault should you decide to show this tree, but other than that it is a good tree to enjoy.