Care of Bonsai Stands

Brian Underwood

Chumono
Reaction score
Excellent point. I see many people abusing very expensive stands and I always cringe. When I worked as a luthier, we used to keep the guitars in a temperature and humidity controlled environment at all times to prevent damage to the various woods used in each project.

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
when I display me bonsai on my stands, i see that the bonsai pots are equipped with felt pads
that are used to prevent furniture from scuffing floors. By doing so it really prevents scratches.

I had my standmaker make me a round, 5 legged stand out of walnut. It's enroute but when it comes, I'll post a picture. :)

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
As promised, here's my newest stand. I couldn't believe my stand maker thru in an exact duplicate in minature. How cool is that! The basic stand is a foot in diamter and the little one is
a tad over 3 inches. I'm so fortunate to have this wood artist making my stands...:)

Attachments

• IMG_2795.JPG
    IMG_2795.JPG
    53.2 KB · Views: 51

Ris

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
10b
As promised, here's my newest stand. I couldn't believe my stand maker thru in an exact duplicate in minature. How cool is that! The basic stand is a foot in diamter and the little one is
a tad over 3 inches. I'm so fortunate to have this wood artist making my stands...:)

Just curious, what would a stand like this cost?

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
was under $300. including shipping. Builder is in eagle Idaho. I can supply anyone contact info with a PM just don't want to make the chatline too commercial.

here's a good question. would using both these stands on the same display be attractive, or would it be "overdone"?

dick benbow

Omono
Reaction score
I think it's important in our learning curve to undrstand that with pots and stands both,
elements of "workmanship" like swirls or carved images can be applicable with the tree