Hinoki Cypress Update

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
*Update on page 2*
Well, I have been posting some updates on my trees lately, so here is another one that some of you might be familiar with. This is a Hinoki Cypress I have been training for about 11 years. It is about 16 inches tall. I did a pretty moderate root pruning and repot in the Spring, so I figured I would let this guy just rest and grow for the whole season. It's earned it. Next year I plan to reduce the silhouette.

Rob

Last edited:

Nybonsai12

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Great tree, foliage nice and tight to the trunk but you can still see the curves. Really nice work. If not for the other things on the photo, I would have thought it was bigger. Looks like it could be standing in a forest.

Last edited:

Mbpauley

Yamadori
Reaction score
I've gotta say, Rob... Posts like these are one of the main reasons I lurk this site so much. Even if I've seen this tree or any one of your others 100 times, I'll always open the thread to see it once more. Thanks for all the updates you've given lately.

Michael

davetree

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Great ! I really like how you can see the small branch in the upper right of the tree. Nice little detail. Thanks for posting.

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
Great tree, foliage nice and tight to the trunk but you can still see the curves. Really nice work. If not for the other things on the photo, I would have thought it was bigger. Looks like it could be standing in a forest.

Thanks Ny. It has been a very cooperative tree. Unusual for a hinoki.:D

Rob

october

Masterpiece
Reaction score
I've gotta say, Rob... Posts like these are one of the main reasons I lurk this site so much. Even if I've seen this tree or any one of your others 100 times, I'll always open the thread to see it once more. Thanks for all the updates you've given lately.

Michael