Home remedies for aphids/pests?

Emily345

Seedling
Reaction score
I'm ready to give up. I have huge fears of bugs and I don't like it at all. I am sad to lose the tree but I don't know what to do? I'm a beginner.

I saw one miticide recipe for dishsoap, rubbing alcohol and cooking oil, does this work?

Ugh, I do not envy you. I recently discovered on one of my plants a colony of mealy bugs and I HATE THEM! They used to plague my succulents and it would cause them to leaf drop. I haven't gone that far as to needing some sort of pesticide. Fortunately for me I discovered these little bastards early and i use a tooth pick and I pick them off one by one and just crush them and make sure they don't live through the ordeal. It's easy for me because it's only one tree. I think I'd go bonkers if it were like......15......I'd just throw my hands up.

I'm ready to give up. I have huge fears of bugs and I don't like it at all. I am sad to lose the tree but I don't know what to do? I'm a beginner.

I saw one miticide recipe for dishsoap, rubbing alcohol and cooking oil, does this work?
The mentioned recipe was not effective at all and actually had more consequences. I do not recommend it but your experiences may differ.

The mentioned recipe was not effective at all and actually had more consequences. I do not recommend it but your experiences may differ.

Interesting you say this, a lot of people recommend it from what I've seen. What kind of consequences are you referring to??

If it is just aphids start collecting ladybugs. ... they will f them up! And fast.

I concur. I collected a bunch of lady bugs this early fall. Let them loose inside my growing area. Trees are healthy and bug free. Mind you I have lady bugs all over the house. I don't mind them though.